I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Javits Fellowships

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

Eligibility is limited to U.S. citizens or nationals, permanent residents of the United States, and citizens of any one of the Freely Associated States. An individual who is enrolled or plans to enroll in a terminal degree program is eligible only if he or she is a citizen of the United States. Applicants must be enrolled or eligible to be enrolled in a graduate program in an approved field of study at an accredited institution of higher education. In fiscal year 1999 sixty percent of new awards shall be available for fellowships to otherwise eligible applicants who have earned no graduate credit hours. The remaining forty percent of new awards shall be available for fellowships to all otherwise eligible applicants who are within the first year of graduate study. In each of these two categories, a minimum of sixty percent of these new fellowships shall be awarded to applicants in the humanities, twenty percent to applicants in the social sciences, and twenty percent to applicants in the arts.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

Regulations were published in the Federal Register on January 19, 1998. This program is excluded from coverage under OMB Circular No. A-87.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.